IBEW 11 2024 Election Results

Local votes to retain Robert Corona as Business Manager

By Robert Fulton

IBEW Local 11 completed its union officer elections earlier this month, with the membership resoundingly supporting Robert Corona as Business Manager/Financial Secretary.

Corona took over as Business Manager in December of 2023. Following Joel Barton’s resignation, Local 11’s Executive Board voted to appoint Corona for the top spot.

Corona has steadily guided the local since his appointment and is grateful for the trust the membership has shown him in giving him the opportunity to continue.

“I am thankful to my IBEW brothers and sisters for their support,” Corona said. “I’m eager to continue the work we’ve started these past few months and lead Local 11 forward.”

Robert Corona joined IBEW Local 11 in 1991 after serving four years in the Air Force and working for two years as a shop steward in the refineries before he applied for the apprenticeship as an Inside Wireman electrician. He moved into his role as an Organizer with IBEW 11 in 1998.

He is only the third Business Manager to helm IBEW 11 in the 21st century and the first person of color to hold the position.

In other election results, Alton Wilkerson was named President, Kelly Oliver Vice President, Gary Tomlin Treasurer and Irene Valenzuela Recording Secretary.

In the first round of balloting, the local decided on Executive Board and Examining Board positions and Convention Delegates.

The Executive Board includes: John Harriel, Jr., Gus Alfaro, Armando Gutierrez, Anthy V. Hadjimarkos, Shawn McDonald, Michael Hawkins and Davion Darden.

The examining Board includes: Luis Corona, Gilbert G. Ortiz III, Myra D. Hildreth, Shan Hicksonbottom and Chris Rodriguez.

Convention Delegates include: Larry Caldwell, John Harriel, Jr., Shomari Davis, Luis Corona, Irene Valenzuela, Gary Tomlin, Brett Moss, Dannielle Lewis, Gus Alfaro, James M. Gruen and Kelly Oliver (Alternate).

Similar Posts